CIDEC logo CIDEC Winter School March 1-5, 1998
ÜIK Talvekool 1.-5. märts, 1998

On March 1-5, 1998 CS & IT Education Development Center for Estonian Universities (CIDEC) organized
the Third CIDEC Winter School in PALMSE, Lahemaa.
1 - 5. märtsini 1998 korraldas Ülikoolide Informaatikakeskus (ÜIK) PALMSEs, Lahemaal oma kolmanda talvekooli.

The idea of such schools is to give to M & PhD students insight into today's research topics of computer science and information technology in order to provide students the state of art in the field.
Selliste koolide eesmärgiks on anda Eesti magistrandidele ja doktorandidele ülevaade aktuaalsetest uurimisteemadest informaatika valdkonnas.

This school was on Käesolev kool oli teemal

PARALLEL AND QUANTUM COMPUTING
PARALLEEL- JA KVANTARVUTUSED


The invited speakers gave the following lectures:Kutsutud lektorid pidasid järgmisi loenguid:
CONCURRENCY VERIFICATION - FROM NONCOMPOSITIONAL TO COMPOSITIONAL PROOF METHODS
Willem-Paul de Roever (Institute of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics in the Technical Faculty of Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel, Germany)

AN INTRODUCTION IN QUANTUM INFORMATION THEORY
Wim van Dam (member of Quantum Computation Group, Clarendon Laboratory, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, Great Britain)

INTRODUCTION TO QUANTUM COMPUTER ALGORITHMS
Michele Mosca (member of Quantum Computation Group, Clarendon Laboratory, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, Great Britain)

COUNTING COMPLEXITY - APPLICATIONS AND BENCHMARKS
Mati Tombak (Institute of Computer Science, Univ. of Tartu, Estonia)

Another part of the school was intended for the STUDENTS' PRESENTATIONS of their research (, in English, presentation 20 min + questions 10 min). Osa kooli ajast oli reserveeritud MAGISTRANDIDE/DOKTORANDIDE ETTEKANNETELE oma töö tutvustamiseks (inglise keeles, ettekanne 20 min + küsimustele 10 min).


The following students volunteered:

Üles astusid järgmised tudengid:
Time-stamping digital documents II (Buldas-Laud-Lipmaa-Willemson), Peeter Laud, Univ. of Tartu, peeter_l@ut.ee
Fast IDEA on Pentium MMX, Helger Lipmaa, Univ. of Tartu, helger@cyber.ee
Polytypic Functional Programming, Härmel Nestra, Univ. of Tartu, nestra@cs.ut.ee
Combinatorics Tasks On the Chessboard, Reimo Palm, Univ. of Tartu, reimo_p@ut.ee
Quasi-Closedness Properties in Ex-Identification of Languages and Recursive Functions, Juris Smotrovs, Univ. of Latvia, smotrovs@cclu.lv
The Problem of Quarto Draws, Albert Tumanov, Univ. of Tartu, albert_t@ut.ee
Meandric numbers,
Time-stamping digital documents I (Buldas-Laud-Lipmaa-Willemson), Jan Willemson, Univ. of Tartu, jan@ut.ee


Prize for the best presentation went toPreemia parima ettekande eest võitis

JAN WILLEMSON TIME-STAMPING OF DIGITAL DOCUMENTS I

List of participants. Osavõtjate nimekiri.

To get an impression what it is all about Helger Lipmaa has put up a collection of photos of the event. Saamaks ettetkujutust, mis tegelikult aset leidis, vaadake Helger Lipmaa fotosid.


HOPE TO SEE YOU ALL NEXT YEAR !

KOHTUMISENI JÄRGMISEL AASTAL !

INFO ! ORGANISING COMMITTEE:
Helger Lipmaa helger@ioc.ee, Jaan Penjam jaan@cs.ioc.ee, Monika Perkmann monika@cs.ioc.ee, Jüri Vain vain@ioc.ee.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Phone Monika Perkmann
CIDEC, Akadeemia tee 21, room B 429
Tallinn EE0026, ESTONIA
E-mail: cidec@cs.ioc.ee
Tel: (+372) 6 397 042
Faks: (+372) 6 397 042

Modified 18/03/1998 monika@cs.ioc.ee